Dan Haren win’s 100th in style

I know I haven’t written in a while. Part of that is that I’ve been upset and another is that I’ve been out of town. Maybe I should go out of town more often. The Angels have been on a tear since I left and they haven’t let up. I missed about 6 games when I was on vacation but the Halos kicked some serious ass during that time. I came home and found the Angels one game out of 1st place an now they are tied a top the AL West.

I luckily got a chance to see the Angels humiliate the Dodgers in the final game of the Freeway Series when I got home. Wow do the Dodgers suck this year. The last two games against the Tigers have been equally enjoyable. Last night, on the 4th of July, they pounded the Tigers into the ground with two bombs, one from Hunter and a late drive from Wells.

Tonight’s game was old school. Two bad ass pitchers trying to go the distance, in a low scoring affair. They both started off great, allowing no hits or runs in their first inning of work. The second inning was a different story though. Dan Haren got his batters out 1-2-3, while Verlander had his troubles. He allowed a one-out single to, All-Star, Howie Kendrick followed by a double from Eric Aybar plating the only run of the game.

That’s all Haren needed tonight. He pitched a complete game, 2-hit, shutout for his 100th win of his career. He struck out 9 batters and walked zero in his complete game.

The Angels bats weren’t very active tonight, but that’s this year’s story. They had a great opportunity with bases loaded and nobody out in the bottom of the 5th but they let slip away with a strikeout, a pop-up, and a fly out.

A lot of people were ejected from this game. Bobby Abreu was ejected after arguing a 3rd strike call in the first inning. Tiger’s manager Jim Leyland was tossed before the 7th inning got under way and starting pitcher Justin Verlander was ejected as he walked off the mound in the 8th inning. There was some weird stuff going on tonight. Why were there so many ejections. Verlander pitched great. What did he say to get himself tossed?

Who cares, the Angels won another one and go for the sweep tomorrow. I’d like to see the Angels take sole control of first place and start distancing themselves from the rest of the pack as the summer winds down in August and September. By the way, I’m going to make a point to write more posts, it’s difficult to keep this up but I’m going to try.

-The Big A-Hole